Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Get your Christmas Cookies at Crosby's Bakery in Nashua

Thinking back to my childhood I remember visiting my grandparent’s house during the holidays and the smell of Christmas cookies baking in the air. These came in all shapes and sizes and I ate them until I couldn’t possibly take another bite. This is something that I looked forward to year after year and it may come as no surprise that nothing has changed today. Those days are long gone but I still want those same warm feelings I got back then. The question is where to go now for these illustrious treats if we prefer to have someone else do the cooking? My top pick is Crosby’s Bakery in Nashua for their Christmas Rum Cookies.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Fowl for the Thanksgiving dinner table

With the holiday season quickly approaching our thoughts turned to family. You might be expecting a review of a family appropriate restaurant or a list of our favorite family eateries for the season. Not today. We want you to think about something as you settle down to Thanksgiving dinner with those that you love. How do these people that share your DNA hold their utensils?

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Restaurants should embrace Apple Pay technology

While I was waiting for my new iPhone 6 to arrive, I may have been obsessed with checking the tracking number from FedEx. To say that I love tech gadgets is an understatement and if you were to ask my wife she would say that I love them more than her which is absolutely not true. With the release of the new iPhone we finally upgraded our antiquated Droid X's. In hindsight we probably should have made the switch much earlier given all the problems we experienced with our old phones but we decided to wait for all the promised new features in the iPhone 6. The one feature that I was especially excited about is the Apple Pay technology that allows customers to pay their bill virtually using their phone instead of sliding their credit card. I headed over to Panera Bread in Concord, the closest restaurant I could find that was iPay enabled to test this out.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

It's a wonderful night for seafood at Fish Bones in Chelmsford, MA

Finding really great seafood in New England should be easy...right? Sadly, that’s not always the case. Some restaurants serve frozen fish (which is unacceptable in New England) while others cook it so long that it turns to mush. We say that there are no excuses for this and are always on the lookout for those restaurants that understand the importance of serving fresh seafood. With that in mind my wife discovered Fish Bones in Chelmsford, MA.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Portsmouth & The Seacoast Restaurant Week November 6th to the 15th

We don't get out to the seacoast as much as we would like and there are some great restaurants that everyone should try. Well, we have some good news! Here is the chance for everyone to sample a new or revisit an old favorite. If you visit participating restaurants during Portsmouth & the Seacoast Restaurant Week from November 6th through the 15th you can have a great meal at an affordable price.

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

El Colima in Nashua worth a visit from near and far

In our ever present quest for good Mexican food, several months ago my wife announced that she wanted to try a place in Nashua called El Colima. Having driven by the small, bright blue building on a side street off of Main Street, she thought it looked promising. Upon further investigation, she discovered that is was temporarily closed as the restaurant was moving to a much larger location nearby. As she checked for updates on their progress. we were happy to learn that they have opened in their new location on West Pearl Street. Not ones to waste time off we went.

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Affordable family friendly dining at CC Tomatoes in Concord

One day several years ago, we were driving on Fisherville Road in Concord and noticed some construction on the side of the road. Initially my wife thought it was going to be an office building but as I looked over I was guessed that it might be a new restaurant. As the weeks passed, we realized that I was right and that it was a restaurant called CC Tomatoes.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Ma's an Mine in Northwood

Earlier this summer as we approached the junction of Routes 4 and 202 in Northwood, my wife noticed some people eating breakfast on an outside porch. We didn't think anything of it at first but decided to Google the restaurant, Ma's An Mine, at a later date to find out about this new spot. Unfortunately, there wasn't much on the internet. Since we travel this road frequently on our trips to the seacoast we decided to drop by on a recent Sunday.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Eat out of your comfort zone at Restaurant Tek Nique in Bedford

For most of us we are creatures of habit and when it comes to food like anything else we go with the familiar. We know what we like and that is that. This pretty much explains why it took us so long to try Restaurant Tek Nique in Bedford. We’ve looked at the menu on a number of occasions and nothing really grabbed us so we never ventured there until recently when we decided to try something new.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

The best hamburger in New Hampshire

I wish I loved salad as much as I love hamburgers. There I said it. In fact, if I’d be guaranteed to not gain an incredible amount of weight, I would eat them all the time. So instead, I have to pick and choose the places that are worthy of this caloric delight. We have been to all the typical places that you are probably familiar with (including burger chains) but there is one that stands above the rest for us.

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Boat and Road Trip to the Mohegan Cafe & Brewery on Block Island, RI

As many of you know, my wife and I have been just about every place in New England during our search for the best foods. One spot that my wife has visited and I have not is Block Island. This small island off the coast of Rhode Island doesn't get the massive crowds like the other nearby islands of Martha’s Vineyard and Nantucket but still offers a lovely escape. Since this is one of the last bastions of uncharted territory in New England for me it was a no brainer that we head over. So, it is time for our first combined boat and road trip.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Road Trip to The Maine Diner, Wells

With the upcoming holiday weekend right around the corner, my guess is that many of you are traveling and Maine may be on your destination list. You could take I95 and yes it is faster but we prefer the more scenic drive that you find along Route One. Normally when we take a quick day trip we tend to stick with the Ogunquit/Kennebunk area. Not because we don't want to venture further but we usually find all the restaurants and things to do further south. On this particular trip to Kennebunkport we decided to stop at the Maine Diner for dinner on the way home. We’ve traveled by this landmark for years and noting that the lines weren’t as long as normal, we finally agreed to give it a try.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

You should pop in at Popovers in Epping, New Hampshire

Located half way between Manchester and Portsmouth sits the town of Epping. The opening of Brickyard Square a few years ago has brought a number of new stores and eating establishments to the area. We have stopped here on a few occasions and the new Popovers has been on our list to try. The Portsmouth location has been a local favorite for years with their fresh baked goods, sandwiches and salads and now we embark on a visit to their newest spot.


Tuesday, August 12, 2014

The Gables Restaurant, Saint Andrews by the Sea, New Brunswick, Canada

A few years ago while visiting Halifax, Nova Scotia, I was chatting with one of the locals who told us of a small beautiful coastal community in New Brunswick, Canada known as Saint Andrews by the Sea. Since we are always on the lookout for new places to visit on the ocean, my wife did some quick research and we vowed that one day we would make a trip. It may have taken a bit longer than we had hoped but we finally made it earlier this summer when we found ourselves in the Mt. Desert Island area.

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Find the North End in Chelmsford, MA at Aprile's European Restaurant

If you love Italian food like we do, frequent trips to Boston and the North End are a common occurrence. There are so many options to choose from but there are times when we would like to find something a little closer to home. We have some good news for you, now the North End is a lot closer in Chelmsford at Aprile's European Cafe. Owner Eddie Aprile decided to move his restaurant from the North End to Chelmsford and we get to enjoy the benefits of great Italian food just over the border.

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Avoid these mistakes to be a better guest at a restaurant

You may remember back in December of last year when I wrote about my top 10 pet peeves while dining out. To be fair, it seems that we should take a look at some annoying things that customers do at restaurants. I am sure if you were to ask a waiter or waitress they probably have their own stories to tell. Take a few minutes to look over the list below list to see if you are one of the offenders.

Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Third time not a charm at Flying Goose Brew Pub & Grille in New London

Upon returning from a trip to Saratoga Springs, New York, we were trying to decide where to have dinner. Having already passed the West Lebanon/Hanover area on I89 and getting closer to Concord, my wife wanted something different than our regular capital region haunts. We neared New London and she said "Let's drive around and see what we can find". Getting closer to the end of the downtown road there was one place that we had been to before and as luck would have it or not we ended up there again, the Flying Goose Brew Pub & Grille. Not having been overly impressed on previous visits we decided that our hunger was going to win out this time. As we entered the restaurant, I wondered if the third time would be the charm?

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Noodles & Company to open in Nashua on July 16th

The first Noodles and Company in New Hampshire will be opening on July 16th at the Daniel Webster Shops in Nashua.   This national quick serve chain serves creative pasta dishes along with sandwiches, soups and salads. The first 50 guests will receive a free bowl of noodles and the hours are 11:00 am to 10:00 pm.

There is also an RSVP event the day before on July 15th to benefit the Nashua Soup Kitchen & Shelter from 11:00 am to 2:00 pm and 4:00 pm to 8:00 pm.

Tuesday, July 8, 2014

A visit to Salem Willows for a Chop Suey Sandwich

Our next road trip has an interesting beginning…

Last year in the fall we were visiting Salem, Massachusetts and my wife wanted to make a quick stop at Salem Willows. This area is right on the ocean and has a small amusement park with a few kid rides including a merry-go-round. We go (of course) for the food and usually head over to EW Hobbs for their delicious flavored popcorn bars.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

Add some spice to your life at B's Tacos Truck in Londonderry

Food trucks have been around for a long time and the trend is finally reaching the Granite State. It used to be that you would only find them occasionally but now all that has changed. In cities like Austin, Texas, they have food truck parks with just about everything offered. New England has also jumped on the bandwagon and if you visit Boston it seems that they are selling food on every corner. New Hampshire hasn't been a hot bed for this but we are starting to see some traction.

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

A breath of fresh air at Mint Bistro in Manchester

We decided to venture out on a rainy midweek evening to dine at the Mint Bistro. Upon arriving in Manchester, the first order of business was to find a place to park which quickly turned into an adventure. The restaurant is located on Elm Street and of course (with my bad luck) there were no available on-street spaces. After driving around the same block a couple of times and with people watching probably getting a good laugh at my expense we ended up in a parking garage.

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Road Trip: Captain Frosty's in Dennis, Massachusetts

When we think of our favorite comfort foods there is mac and cheese, pizza, hamburgers, chowder, and meatloaf. Most of these we can make at home unless you're like us and prefer to have someone else make it for you. Anyway, there is one that is very difficult to prepare at home and that is fried seafood. You could buy one of those small fryers or set up a large commercial fryer in your kitchen but for most of us it is just better cooked by somebody else. With the smell of fried seafood permeating in our minds we took off on a recent warm day to Captain Frosty's on Cape Cod in Dennis, MA.

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Tucker's in Hooksett needs improvement

If you like a good restaurant story then there is none better than the husband and wife team who have opened a new restaurant in Hooksett which is aptly called Tucker’s which coincidentally is their last name. They are the previous owners of Maddie's in Salem which we had visited on a number of occasions. We were excited to see if their new venture would be as successful as Maddie’s so we headed south to find out.

Tuesday, June 3, 2014

No shortage of pleasant surprises at Red Blazer in Concord

Shortly after my wife and I started dating we were going out for dinner often and we tried just about every restaurant in Concord 10 times over. One of our favorite local restaurants became the Red Blazer in Concord. Located just off I 93 at exit 13 it is an ideal spot to stop on your way through New Hampshire or if you are visiting the capital region. Either way we think you will find that there is a lot to like.

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Top Dog and the Hidden Gem of Rockport, Massachusetts

With Memorial Day right around the corner there may be people out there trying to think of what to do this upcoming holiday weekend. We have plenty of road trips for you to choose from our Time for a Road Trip series and now we are going to add one of our favorites to the list.

Tuesday, May 13, 2014

The Naticook Fish & Grill in Litchfield is a must try

The restaurants housed at Mel’s Tee Off in Litchfield have had their ups and downs over the years. First up was Greenfields which in my opinion had some of the best corned beef hash that I’ve ever eaten but unfortunately the owners weren’t able to make it work. Next and most recently was Woodman's. Sadly, they never seemed to recreate the success of their flagship property in Essex, MA.

Tuesday, May 6, 2014

The lost art of crumbing

My father in-law is a smart man who knows a lot about everything. In a recent conversation we managed to get on a subject that is close to my heart - crumbing. For those of you who are not aware this is the process of cleaning off a table usually at a higher end restaurant with a crumber, a small flat and narrow tool that servers at restaurants use to wipe off crumbs from at table and table cloth.

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Firefly in Manchester not up to top destination standards

We have not been to Firefly in Manchester for a few years and thought it was time to give them another try. They had recently been voted one of the best travel worthy destination restaurants by FlipKey, the Vacation Rental blog of Tripadvisor. Before we give them a thumbs up to our loyal readers or having anyone travel a distance to visit, we needed to check them out again for ourselves first.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

New Hampshire Restaurant Week May 16th to the 23rd

For the third year in a row, The New Hampshire Restaurant & Lodging Association is sponsoring New Hampshire Restaurant Week from May 16th to the 23rd. This is a great opportunity for you to try a new restaurant or return to one of your favorites for a reduced price. Let's face it, dining out can be expensive so the NHRLA is trying to make it easier and more affordable for you.

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Pasquale's Ristorante in Candia not worth a trip out of your way



After heading back home after a trip to the seacoast, my wife and I started to think about where to go for dinner. Because we were on Route 101, we eliminated some usual suspects and decided to go back to a place that we hadn't visited for a number of years - Pasquale's in Candia.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Road Trip: Longfellow's Wayside Inn, Sudbury, Massachussetts

Finally spring has arrived and I’ve never been happier to bid farewell to winter. With the weather turning nicer it’s time to start traveling the open roads of New England. Recently, my wife, who is always up for a challenge, was searching for a decent place to take my mother-in-law for her birthday. "We are going to Longfellow's Wayside Inn" she exclaimed. I thought why? I’ve never heard of this place but knew it was in my best interest to not say anything. My wife’s instincts are usually spot on as far as food and travel go but this one left me puzzled.

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Where to eat near Fenway Park?

It is that time of year again and on Friday, April 4th the Red Sox will open the season at home on the quest for another World Series Championship. From early in our dating days (many years ago), my wife and I have attended many games at Fenway. This combines two of my greatest loves in life (after my wife, of course) food and sports. There is nothing like seeing a game here but for those visiting from out of state one of the most common questions we hear is: Where should we go to eat near Fenway Park?

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Exciting news from New Hampshires best breakfast place, Janie's Uncommon Cafe in Londonderry

For those of you who love a great breakfast, you will find it at Janie's Uncommon Cafe in Londonderry. They are at the top of our list of the best in New Hampshire and they have some exciting news that we wanted to share. Janie's is moving (hopefully by the end of March) to the former location of TJs Bagel & Eatery which closed at the beginning of 2014. Truth be told I will miss the bagels at TJ's but with Janie's moving in we should all be thankful that this location is finally getting the great restaurant that it deserves.

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

Recipe: How to make Irish Golds

With St. Patrick's Day just around the corner, I thought we would mix things up and try something a little different. I’ll be the first to admit that while we love food we don't cook that often because we prefer eating out at restaurants. We do enjoy the process so every once in a while we find ourselves in the kitchen. Since everyone is so busy, we thought we’d share a very simple and quick recipe for a sweet treat called Irish Gold’s.

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Fresh look has desired impact at Bridge Street Bistrot & Wine Bar, Portsmouth, NH

One of my biggest pet peeves with restaurants these days is that so few change their menu or atmosphere. It may be because they are afraid to upset their customers but I can tell you how bored we get with the same predictable experience. It's not just dining establishments in small towns. Keeping the same menu in cities like Boston or even Portsmouth doesn't work either because there are many new restaurants opening and diners have more choices. To survive change is a must.

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Take flight to the Midfield Cafe in Nashua

The Midfield Cafe is a breakfast and lunch place located at the Airport in Nashua, New Hampshire. In addition to decent food, one of the more interesting things about the restaurant is trying to find it once you reach the Airport. If you don't live in the area you may want to warm up your GPS for this one as it is no easy task to find. Once there, the fun really begins.

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Wahlburgers in Hingham, Massachusetts

This week I was perplexed when my husband asked me to write about our latest road trip since this adventure was all his idea. So, instead delving too deeply into the reason why, I agreed to honor his request and then it all became perfectly clear.

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Our favorite food and restaurant blogs and websites in New England and the United States

Since I started writing about restaurants a few years ago I have found a number of websites and blogs to follow on a regular basis. Most of these will not be household names for you but I have found that they are all worth checking out whether they are funny, provide useful information or reviews. In terms of bloggers, I prefer the smaller ones instead of those that are part of a national organization. Some are focused on the New England states because that's where I live while others are scattered throughout the United States.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

MaryAnn's Diner brings life back to empty space in Windham

You may remember our previous visits to the now out of business, Chatterbox Cafe in Windham. Well, we were in the area and decided to drive by the space to see if it was still empty. Much to our surprise, MaryAnn's Diner decided to open a restaurant in the same spot. Would this be an improved experience over the disaster that was the Chatterbox Cafe?

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Everything made from scratch at the Tuscan Kitchen in Salem

Our normal routine on weekends tends to be breakfast in the morning, an afternoon snack and then dinner. Every once and awhile for whatever reason our morning gets messed up and we end up skipping breakfast and search for a decent place for lunch.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

The Best Restaurants for a Memorable Valentines Day in NH

In deciding what I should write about this week, I realized that Valentine’s Day is only a month away! Over my many years of marriage, I learned that it is necessary to spend some time planning and deciding where to take my sweetheart on this important day.

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Cotton gets our new year off to a great start

With the craziness of the holidays behind us, my wife and I had some much needed time off recently so we made sure to utilize this time wisely to sample local cuisine. It was with that in mind that my wife and I finally decided to visit Cotton for our first review of 2014. We had planned to visit over the last couple of months but the timing never seemed to work out. Finally on a recent Saturday night we got our chance.