Saturday, December 10, 2016

Revival Kitchen and Bar to open in Concord

After several years in downtown Concord, Sunny’s Table has gone out of business. As is the trend to provide farm to table items, a new restaurant focused on this model will be opening in its place called Revival Kitchen & Bar.

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

At Gale Motor Company Eatery food not cars are the special of the day

Over the years, there have been a number of very good restaurants located at 36 Lowell Street in Manchester. You may remember Richard's Bistro and after that 11 Eleven Bistro that we wrote about in 2013.  Now, sits the Gale Motor Company with a slightly misleading name where food not cars are the special of the day. Given that we’ve enjoyed the previous establishments we hoped this would continue at the newest restaurant.

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Friday night fish fry at The Bagg Lunch

There is nothing better than finding a local restaurant where simple but home cooked foods wait. And so it is with the The Bagg Lunch, a small business located in on Mast Road in Goffstown. Here you will instantly know that this is a family affair. With recipes used from years ago, our waitress (whom I believe is the owner) explains that it’s food that her late father used to enjoy. Her niece is the pastry chef. Having heard on a prior breakfast visit about their Friday night fish special this was our time to check it out.

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Our take on Guy Fieri's visit to Tuckaway Tavern

The Tuckaway Tavern in Raymond was recently featured on an episode of Diners Drive-ins and Dives. We occasionally watch this show featuring Guy Fieri visiting restaurants that are many times in unusual locations all over the US. Since they are just down the road, we decided to head for Raymond to discover for ourselves if Guy was right about the grub.

Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Aroma Joe's continuing to expand in NH and Maine

While driving around this summer, I couldn't help but notice all the Aroma Joe’s everywhere we went. This coffee chain has been building new stores all over the place and they now have somewhere between 40 and 50 locations with the most recent opening in Greenland, NH. To give you an idea of the layout, these are small drive through and walk up stores. Because of this they can be constructed faster which gives them a competitive advantage. One had also gone up in Hooksett and that was my stop to sample their coffee.

Tuesday, October 25, 2016

New bistro a welcome addition to Applecrest Farm

With the fall weather here and beautiful scenery everywhere you look, we decided to revisit Applecrest Farm in Hampton Falls. Back in September 2015, we enjoyed one of their harvest festivals which featured music, food, apple picking and more fun fall activities for all ages. When we arrived we were greeted with a noticeable addition, a large new building. We walked over as quickly as our legs would take us to find out what was inside.

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Polly's Pancake Parlor improves after renovations

It’s been a couple of years since our last visit to Polly's Pancake Parlor in Sugar Hill. We decided that too much time had passed and headed to Polly’s to enjoy both the breakfast and some of the best foliage we’ve had in years.

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Take a break from leaf peeping at Moat Mountain Smokehouse & Brewery

With leaf peeping around the corner many tourists will be wondering where to go for decent food in the North Country. We attempted to visit Moat Mountain Smokehouse and Brewery in North Conway last fall and as we were walking into the entrance we were told that their computer system was down which meant no cash registers and no electronic orders for the kitchen. Needless to say they closed for the day. So, we decided to try it again a few weeks ago.

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Artistry on the Green our best restaurant of the year

When my wife was searching for a nice restaurant to take her parents for their anniversary, she came upon Artistry on the Green. Located inside the Inn at Hastings Park this jewel is a venue that many of you are probably unfamiliar with in Lexington, Massachusetts. Only a half hour from the New Hampshire border this one is definitely worth a short drive.

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Half way to St. Patrick's Day at the Holy Grail

With the half way point to St. Patrick’s Day on September 17th, we stopped in at the Holy Grail in Epping. Not strangers to the establishment we usually go to the bar to watch a ball game and we are always treated very well.

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Timing not the best for new Giorgio's

For anyone passing through Manchester on Route 293 south, you may have noticed a building under construction that could be seen from the highway. There is also a large sign visible in the distance with the name Giorgio's, the third and newest location for this Mediterranean/Italian restaurant chain. Always on the lookout for something different it had been at least 10 years since our last visit to the Giorgio's in Merrimack. Having just recently opened it was time to see how they are doing present day in Manchester.

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Your turn to experience Riddle's Tavern

Finding a decent bar can sometimes prove difficult. You want a bartender who can make a drink the way you want and a restaurant that provides good food to go with it and not just castoffs relegated from the kitchen. Then there is the service that is always a crap shoot and you look for those establishments where you are treated with respect whether you are a regular or not. That brings us to Riddle's Tavern at Buckley's Steakhouse where we believe that you will get all of that. Simply put they are one of the best bars/taverns in the state.

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Open kitchen key to success at 110 Grill

Something may seem very familiar when you walk into the 110 Grill in Nashua. There’s no mistaken that it looks and feels just like Burton's Grill and with good reason as they have an owner in common. The atmosphere and menu have the same general vibe but they both stand on their own.

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Start your day off right at Sunny's

On our way over to the coast on Route 4, we were looking for a new place for breakfast and happened upon Sunny's in Lee. Sunny's is located a mile and a half from the Lee traffic circle along Route 125.

Tuesday, July 5, 2016

Leave the shopping to Hannaford To Go

If grocery shopping isn’t one of your favorite weekly chores, there is good news as we found out recently after trying Hannaford To Go. While the service isn’t perfect, it’s a definite option for those who would rather spend their time doing something else.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Experience breeds success at Smokeshow BBQ

After many years of working in restaurants, Matt Gfroerer decided that it was time to venture out on his own so he opened Smokeshow BBQ in Concord. Located in the same plaza as Planet Fitness, it is easy to reach from either I-93 or 393. Finding decent restaurants in this sector are few and far between but we were excited to find out whether this would be a decent option.

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Not enough at the table for Silvertone

During a trip to Boston, we decided to take a walk over to Silvertone, near the Common. Known for their comfort foods and dive bar feel, you will certainly find all of that here.

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Old Salt 30 years in business and still going strong

We have been aware of The Old Salt Tavern for many years but never thought to stop in for a visit. A fixture in the seacoast for 30 years, they are at the same location as Lamie's Inn on Route 1 in Hampton. As luck would have it our travels recently brought us to the area so we decided to check out lunch at the Old Salt.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Pasquale's expanding to Londonderry

There’s a new Italian restaurant on the way in Londonderry. Pasquale’s is opening in the building that previously housed Avandi’s restaurant on Nashua Road. Although we were not impressed with the food as previously written there is no doubt that they have a following in the greater Candia area. According to their Facebook page the restaurant will open sometime this Summer.

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Tucker's attempting to conquer breakfast market

You may not be familiar with the name Tucker's but that may change in the near future. This husband and wife team, Hale and Erica Cole Tucker, first became established in the restaurant world when they opened the successful Maddie's in Salem several years. After selling that restaurant they started with a new concept, Tucker's, and picked their first location in Hooksett a few years back. Then, about a year ago they opened the second Tucker's in New London and most recently in our own backyard, the South End of Concord at the former location of the Cornerview.

Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Long tenure not enough to save Tapeo

Whether for recreation or work most of us from the Granite State visit Boston. We found ourselves in the city and decided to try Tapeo, a tapas focused establishment on Newbury Street. It’s worth noting that the restaurant has been in business for thirteen years which is impressive given that so many close after a short time.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Will aggressive growth plans be too much for Wahlburgers?

Finally an excuse to talk about Wahlburgers, the fast growing restaurant chain run by the Wahlberg family. The brothers had visited the International Speedway in the Granite State where they had been invited to a race that was shown on a recent episode of their TV show. Having watched the series in the past we haven't seen an episode in some time but their aggressive growth plans are everywhere and according to an article in the Boston Globe adding 110 new restaurants is a real possibility over the next several years. The Wahlburgers think it is time to celebrate but I think the company should take a step back.

Friday, April 22, 2016

Chipotle to open in Concord

There is good news for all of the Chipotle fans in the Concord area. They are opening a new restaurant on Loudon Road.

Tuesday, April 19, 2016

Funway burger a good fit for Mel's

Running a successful restaurant at Mel's Funway Park in Litchfield is a major challenge. The last attempt, Naticook Fish & Grill didn't work out. Not because it wasn't a good place to eat as we had previously written but it probably wasn't the best fit for Mel's. The prices were high for the area and it did not have the appeal of a younger crowd and families who are more likely to visit Mel's. Now, the same owner, Marco, is giving it another try with Funway Burger.

Tuesday, April 5, 2016

You will get a kick out of Shira Kiku

Shira Kiku is a small Japanese and Korean restaurant in Nashua that has a fun lively feel that makes you feel welcome as soon as you walk in the door. From the give and take banter with the waitresses to the odd decor and the healthy foods they give their all and it works for them and their customers. The menu is large and everyone can find something that will please their palates.

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Try Market Basket Donuts

With the new Market Basket documentary set to be released in mid-April it got me thinking about the company. Long ago my wife mentioned that she was at an event where they served donuts from Market Basket and that they were surprisingly delicious. I thought you might like to hear about their sweet treats. Her take was that there would be of very little interest in this post and that it would turn out to be a yawner. Please help us figure out who was right by liking the post on Facebook or commenting below.

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Portofino deserves a chance to earn your business

When the news broke late last year that Florence's in Merrimack was closing, I couldn't help but wonder what would move into the existing space. Thankfully, I didn't have to wait too long as Portofino opened several weeks ago. For those of you familiar with the Italian restaurants in southern New Hampshire, you might be surprised to see that the former owners of Pastamore in Amherst opened Portofino.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Corner View lives on at Veano's ll

After the Cornerview restaurant in Concord closed recently, its customers including us wondered where they would now go for breakfast. There is good news for anyone who liked the restaurant as it lives on in a strange place.

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Boxty at Kathleen's Cottage

With St. Patrick’s Day just around the corner, it seemed like an ideal time to visit an Irish pub and our pick was Kathleen's Cottage in Bristol. They usually rate very high among the best in the state on WMURs viewer’s choice and we wanted to explore what they had to offer. However, the main reason for our interest is that they are one of the only pubs in the Granite State that serves something we love to eat and that is boxty. For those of you who are not familiar with this Irish dish, it’s a potato pancake with various fillings and sauce served on top.

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

Find Grassfield's no matter how difficult

Looking for something new to try, my wife suggested Grassfield’s in Andover, Massachusetts based on a recommendation made to her. Located just a short 20 minute drive from the New Hampshire border, it is an easy stop for those returning from a trip to Boston. On North Main Street in front of a mall with no sign identifying the location from the road, the restaurant is easy to miss. After originally driving past it, we turned around and entered into the turn for a shopping plaza. Looking around for a minute, we finally spied the building. A couple next to us at the bar had lived in town for years and didn't even know the place existed!

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Objectives achieved with Row 34 expansion

You may notice something very familiar about Row 34 if you have visited Island Creek Oyster Bar in Boston. Apparently, both establishments have the same owners who decided to bring their restaurant success out of Massachusetts to the Granite State. The first Row 34 was opened in the Boston’s Seaport area and now they are attempting to gain traction on the New Hampshire Seacoast with their new restaurant in Portsmouth.

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Bennett's Sandwich Shop

Who among us doesn't love a great sandwich? If you live in the Portsmouth area, Bennett's opened a new downtown shop back in June. On a recent visit, my wife and I were excited to see the new addition. We are familiar with their other location in Kennebunkport, Maine and looked forward to finding out if the Portsmouth shop would be as good.

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Copper Door worth a second look

Opening a new restaurant is fraught with challenges including training wait staff, completing inspections and all this while trying to get the food quality right. Our goal is to be fair but also honest when reviewing these establishments. Thinking about the initial few weeks when they are completely mobbed with everyone in the area visiting, it seems only right to revisit. With that in mind my wife and I decided to take another look at the Copper Door in Bedford. After they opened in the spring of 2012 our opinion was one of disappointment. Let's see how they did when we stopped in a few weeks back.

Tuesday, January 5, 2016

A taste of Italy at the Tuscan Market

Before the holidays crept upon us, we went to the Tuscan Kitchen to pick up a gift card for my in laws. In case you don’t remember, this is a place that I had reviewed back in 2014 and we loved the food. On our way out of the parking lot, we were passing by the Tuscan Market and my wife commented on how busy they were with so many cars. Usually this is a good sign and a signal to at least check a place out and we promised to visit the next time we were in Salem.