Thursday, October 19, 2017

Lavinia's In Center Harbor Is Permanently Closed

Sadly, another restaurant has bitten the dust this time in Center Harbor. Lavinia's has permanently closed.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

NH Restaurants Open On Thanksgiving

Believe it or not in a little over 5 weeks Thanksgiving Day will be upon us. You might be thinking, seriously, we haven't even gotten past Halloween yet but for anyone thinking about eating out the time is now to make a reservation.

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Restaurant Week Gives Everyone A Reason To Dine Out In Portsmouth

Opportunities have been missed by many to dine out on the seacoast. We are included in this and for reasons that cannot be easily explained. The excuses are over with restaurant week on the horizon.

Monday, October 9, 2017

Sakura Asian Bistro Taking Over Tomo Hibachi Space In Nashua

All signs point to a change of restaurants at the small plaza where Ashbrook Furniture is located in Nashua. This is close to the Volvo dealership and there is a Spirit Halloween store as well.

Sunday, October 8, 2017

Don Ramon Mexican Restaurant Coming Soon To Merrimack

There is a new Mexican restaurant opening in Merrimack at the former location of Wendy’s. For anyone familiar with the area, this is near the Common Man.

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Peter Christians Tavern hoping to open in early 2018

The New London restaurant institution has been around since 1975 and developed a loyal following over the years. There was a near mutiny when the rumor mill indicated that they might close permanently.


Tuesday, October 3, 2017

MT Local Stands For Mighty Tasty

The Michael Buckley Dining Group has created some our favorite restaurants including Surf and Buckley's. MT Local in Nashua is one that we hadn't been to in many years and it was time to see if the magic touch of Buckley was still there.

Monday, October 2, 2017

MOOYAH New England Expansion Continues In Rochester

MOOYAH Burgers, Fries and Shakes is coming soon to the RIDGE Marketplace in Rochester. They hope to open in November. This is their first New Hampshire location.

Thursday, September 28, 2017

The Willow Bakery And Restaurant Is Closed

The short existence of The Willow Bakery and Restaurant in Henniker is apparently over. All signs point to a business that has closed their doors.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Pub Grainery a disappointment

One thing you can always count on at NH Reviews is our honest opinion. No sugar coating, just a real overview of our experience which brings us to the Pub Grainery on Otterson Street in Nashua.

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Give Gourmet Bites A Try

On the main road (Broadway) in Salem sits a restaurant that we never knew existed. Gourmet Bites can be found in a small plaza and, if you are not looking carefully, can be easily missed.

Monday, September 18, 2017

Fuego Bar And Grill To Replace Vietnam Noodle House In Nashua

It is our understanding that a group including the former owner of Gate City Pizza, Enrique Marrero are planning to open a new dining establishment at the previous location of the Vietnam Noodle House in Nashua.  Named Fuego Bar and Grill, they hope to begin business operations within a couple of weeks. The plan is to serve Spanish and American cuisine and to have a bar.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Best Italian Restaurants In NH

Most of the best restaurant lists you see these days are just popularity contests based on Facebook comments or Yelp high ratings. It is our turn to let you know where to find the best Italian food in the Granite State.

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Wellington's Marketplace In Concord To Reopen Under New Ownership

The popular lunch spot, Wellington's, in Concord recently announced they have been sold.

Thursday, September 7, 2017

Kisaki Japanese Cuisine Hoping To Open in Manchester By September 20th

You may be wondering when Kisaki Japanese Cuisine is going to open in Manchester at the former location of Greg's Place. We did a little digging and here is what we found out.

Sunday, September 3, 2017

Johnsons Seafood And Steak Planning Expansion With Northwoods Brewing

The owners of Johnson's Seafood and Steak just announced plans for a major expansion at their Northwood location. To be named Northwoods Brewing Company, the new structure will be built on the left side of the existing restaurant to include a parking lot, bakery and brewery. They hope to open in the spring of 2018.

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Long Blue Cat Brewery At Final Stages Of Approval In Londonderry

There is a new beer haunt coming to Londonderry. The Long Blue Cat Brewery is in the final stages of approval before opening their doors. They only need to complete a food inspection and obtain their liquor license. Hopefully all will be done very soon.

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Bonfire Sets Soft And Grand Opening Dates For Manchester Launch

In case you missed it, the Bonfire Restaurant & Country Bar has announced their opening dates.

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Time To Give The Martini The Respect It Deserves

My uncle was one to taste an occasional martini and as a salute to him I have developed an appreciation for these adult beverages. Finding that most bars have no clue when it comes to making a good one something needs to be said.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Long forgotten Cactus Jacks

This week brings Reviews to Cactus Jacks in Manchester and another dining establishment from Great NH Restaurants who also own T-Bones Great American Eateries. Long forgotten by us, and possibly by many of our readers, we dropped in for a bite.

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Yangtze River Restaurant in Lexington is closed for renovations

If you have ever traveled down to Lexington, Massachusetts from the Granite State you may remember the Yangtze River Restaurant. Located in Depot Square, we noticed that they were not open and wondered what had happened.

Saturday, August 19, 2017

Tremonte Pizzeria to replace Angela's in Tyngsboro

Angela's Coal Fired Pizza is no more and is going to be replaced by Tremonte Pizzeria. The owners hope to open sometime in the middle of September.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Terrasini Pastry Shop Now Open in Concord

The Terrasini Pastry Shop just opened in Concord. Apparently, they moved from Laconia hoping for more business in the capital region.

Sunday, August 6, 2017

Pasquale's is closed in Candia

Sad news for all of the Pasquale's fans in Candia, they recently closed. To their credit the restaurant survived for a long time in a low population area.

Monday, July 31, 2017

Murphy's Taproom in Bedford to open soon

After months of planning and a lengthy construction project Murphy's Taproom and Carriage House is almost finished. There has been no official opening date announced yet but their best estimate is sometime the week of August 14th.

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Roots offers unique alternative at Robie's Country Store

Feeling a bit bored with the same old breakfast restaurants, we decided to try something different and ventured out to Roots Cafe.

Monday, July 17, 2017

Noodles and Pearls on the way in Concord

A new ramen and bubble tea restaurant is on the way in Concord. There were few details available only a sign out front with the typical coming soon and no estimate on when they might open.

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

McSharry's Railpenny Tavern Best in Epping

The Railpenny Tavern is the latest creation for seacoast restauranteur Jay McSharry. Opened about a month ago in Epping, McSharry has developed a number of other successful dining spots in the past including Portsmouth's Jumping Jay's Fish Cafe. Now with this incarnation he appears to be branching out of his ocean roots and moving further inland toward Manchester.

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Puerto Vallarta planning to open Nuevo Vallarta in Manchester

The details on this one are sketchy at the moment but it is our understanding that Puerto Vallarta, the Mexican restaurant on Second Street in Manchester is planning another dining establishment right down the road from the first. To be named Nuevo Vallarta, they hope to open sometime early in August.

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Decent breakfast at Circle Restaurant

There’s a week in June when businesses in the state rejoice because of the influx of visitors for Motorcycle Week. The Circle Restaurant in Epsom was no different when we stopped in one morning for breakfast. Just off the traffic circle on the on the way to Loudon their lot was filled with Harley Davidson's and other similar riding machines. Inside, the wait was long which gave us time to take a look around.

Monday, June 26, 2017

The Willow Restaurant and Bakery to open in Henniker

Any day now once inspections are complete, The Willow Restaurant & Bakery is set to open in Henniker. Located at the old Henniker Junction, they are planning to have baked items, ice cream and southern foods.

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Fuse Bistro to open second location in Westford

The owners of Fuse Bistro in Lowell just announced plans for a second restaurant in Westford. There was no specific estimate on timing only that they hope to open soon.

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

Heritage Restaurant just opened in Derry

More restaurant news for you as the Heritage just opened in Derry. This is at the previous location of How's Your Onion that had recently closed.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

The Beach Plum has all the foods of summer

In your travels, you have probably seen the advertisements on billboards for The Beach Plum which brings NH Reviews to our next restaurant. With locations in North Hampton, Portsmouth and their newest in Epping we dropped by for a visit.

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

California Burritos planning second location in Hudson

California Burritos is planning to open a second location in Hudson on Lowell Road in July.

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

The most underappreciated restaurants in the Granite State

My wife and I travel all over the Granite State attempting to find restaurants that our readers are going to love and we have found many great ones over the years. There are some that I would categorize as underappreciated for whatever reason and certainly worth your time to check out. Here is a list in no particular order.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Great fried food and ice cream at Goldenrod

The Goldenrod in Manchester has been a favorite stop of ours for ice cream over the years. Not only do they serve frozen treats, the restaurant also has a large menu filled with comfort foods. During one of our visits we wanted to try something other than dessert and of course all in the name of NH Restaurant Reviews. And with that on a recent Sunday afternoon our time had come to find out about the rest of their grub.

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

Popeye's to open in Nashua

Most of you know that NH Reviews is not a huge fan of chain restaurants but we thought you would be interested to know what dining establishment is going in at 141 Daniel Webster Highway, the former home of Wendy’s. Construction has been under way for a while and is now confirmed to be a Popeye’s.

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Enough to like at Smoke Shack Southern BBQ

On Route 3 between Concord and Tilton, you will find the Smoke Shack Southern BBQ. Housed in a small red building, this restaurant that has been around for a long time and seems to have a local following. We decided to take a ride one recent afternoon and knowing the Smoke Shack was ahead the timing was right to finally find out what they have to offer.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Backyard Brewery and Kitchen coming to Manchester

Attention all you beer lovers! A new brewery is opening in Manchester called the Backyard Brewery and Kitchen. The timing depends on how their construction progresses but is estimated for later this spring or summer.

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Bacon fanatics rejoice at the Bacon Barn

Bacon is at the top of my favorite foods list. Whether it is huge chunks added to a steak salad or served on top of potato skins that flavor makes everything taste better. So when a friend of my wife's recommended the Bacon Barn, we hi-tailed our way over.

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Ignite doing it right

The downtown Manchester restaurant scene has improved over the years and one of the mainstays has been the Ignite/Hooked combo on Hanover Street, near the Palace Theatre. We were interested to see why they have been around for a long time so we took a closer look at Ignite.

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Gale Motor Company expanding to Litchfield

The Gale Motor Company is planning to launch a new restaurant called the "Pitstop" at Mel's Funway Park in Litchfield. It is anticipated that they will open sometime this spring.

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Free cone day at Ben and Jerry's on April 4th

Next Tuesday, April 4th is Ben and Jerry's annual free cone day. All you need to do is visit one of their participating locations somewhere in the world and a small ice cream can be yours.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Skip Tortilla Flat

There is a sad harsh reality trying to find decent Mexican food in New Hampshire. Most of what you get is mediocre at best and unless you want to make a trip south or the border the choices are limited. With that said we continue looking and that brought us to the Epping location of Tortilla Flat.

Sunday, March 12, 2017

Tucker's to open new location in Dover

You may remember our story from last year about Tucker's expanding throughout New Hampshire. They are now planning to open their fourth location during the late Spring or Summer in a spot that previously housed a Pizzeria Uno in Dover.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

NH restaurant week set for March 24th to the 31st

The New Hampshire Lodging and Restaurant Association has marked NH Restaurant Week from Friday, March 24th to Friday March 31st. During this time participating restaurants will be offering special price fix menus for lunch and dinner. All you have to do is ask your server for the details.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

St. Patrick's Day grub at The Peddler's Daughter

With less than three weeks until St. Patrick's Day, the timing seemed just right to check in at an Irish pub. The Peddler's Daughter in Nashua was our destination though we’ve visited before it’s been a few years so we headed out to find authentic Irish food.

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Janie's Uncommon Cafe hoping to expand

Janie's Uncommon Cafe, the popular breakfast spot in Londonderry, has plans to expand. With a very loyal following, the restaurant is extremely busy on weekends and this expansion should help to reduce wait times for their customers.

Thursday, February 9, 2017

Kamen and Provencher winning team at The Foundry

With an owner known for his amazing inventions and medical devices which revolutionized aspects of the health care industry, Dean Kamen doesn’t seem to be a restaurateur but he decided to jump into the fray back in 2015 with The Foundry in Manchester.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Eat Cake for breakfast best new food trend

Every year we take a look at new food trends to determine if any might be of interest to our readers. The advertising organization Sterling-Rice Group publishes a top 10 list and I am always interested to get their take on what changes are expected. Our favorite for 2017 is eating cake for breakfast.

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Bavaria German Restaurant Hidden Gem

My experience with German culture has been limited over the years other than learning a little of the language and partaking in sampling delicious pastries made by the mother of a high school friend. Fast forward to present day and we decided to try the Bavaria German Restaurant in Hooksett where I hoped to revisit my youth.

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Small plates won't leave you blue at Stella Blu

Upon walking into Stella Blu something hits you that is unique in terms of a restaurant experience. Looking around you see guests chatting away with each other, smiles everywhere whether from our own waitress or at their large focal point bar where the bartenders greet customers like they are happy to have them in for a visit. This feeling of being made to feel welcome is difficult to find but when you are there in the moment there is nothing more valuable with all the doom and gloom that sometimes surrounds us.

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Go to Bubby's you'll be glad you did

Our first review of the New Year brings us to Portsmouth and the delicatessen Bubby's. Having seen their sign on a few prior visits to the area we thought about going but it never worked out. After mulling it over and wanting to find a new place for breakfast, I finally convinced my wife the time had come for us to check them out.